November 2022


Rhoads Leads NACS Board of Directors, Executive Committee

New retailer and supplier leadership changes announced during the NACS Board of Directors meeting.

Above: L to R: Jared Scheeler, 2021-22 NACS chair, passes the gavel to Don Rhoads, 2022-23 NACS chair, during the NACS Board of Directors meeting at the 2022 NACS Show.

Don Rhoads, president and CEO of The Convenience Group LLC in Vancouver, Washington, has been named the 2022-23 NACS chair. He began his term following the NACS Board of Directors meeting on October 1 during the NACS Show in Las Vegas.

The Convenience Group owns, operates and franchises eight neighborhood convenience stores throughout Washington and Oregon. Rhoads began his convenience career in 1989 as president of Quick Shop Minit Mart, a 51-unit retail store chain in Vancouver, Washington. He joined The Convenience Group in 2000 and has led the company in strategic growth, planning and establishment of long-term goals and policies and building the company’s asset portfolio.

As NACS chair, Rhoads also leads the NACS Executive Committee, which provides strategic direction and financial oversight to the association. Committee members are:

  • Vice Chair, Treasurer and Vice Chair, Strategic Communications: Ken Parent, Pilot Flying J LLC (Knoxville, Tennessee)
  • Vice Chair, Legislative: Lisa Dell’Alba, Square One Markets Inc. (Bethlehem, Pennsylvania)
  • Vice Chair, Member Services: Annie Gauthier, St. Romain Oil Company LLC (Mansura, Louisiana)
  • Vice Chair, Research and Technology: Chuck Maggelet, Maverik Inc. (Salt Lake City, Utah)
  • Vice Chair, At Large: Victor Paterno, Philippine Seven Corp. dba 7-Eleven Convenience Store (Mandaluyong, Philippines)
  • Vice Chair, At Large: Brian Hannasch, Alimentation Couche-Tard Inc. (Laval, Quebec, Canada)

Jared Scheeler, 2021-22 NACS chair (The Hub Convenience Stores), and Kevin Smartt, 2020-19 NACS chair (TXB Stores Inc.), also serve on the Executive Committee.

During the meeting, NACS also named new retail members to its Board of Directors:

  • John Jackson, Jackson Food Stores Inc.
  • Brian McCarthy, Blarney Castle Oil Co.
  • Tony Miller, Delek US

During the NACS Show, the NACS Supplier Board also named new leadership and members. Kevin Farley, COO of GSP, has been named 2022-23 NACS Supplier Board chair.
In addition, David Charles, Cash Depot, has been named chair-elect, and four new members were elected to the NACS Supplier Board:

  • Jerry Cutler, InComm Payments
  • Jack Dickinson, Dover Corporation
  • Mark Falconi, Oberto Snacks Inc.
  • Kevin Kraft, FIFCO USA

The chair and chair-elect of the NACS Supplier Board also serve on the Board of Directors.